Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience

Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience
Are you signed up for our FREE 7-Step Plan?
Get on a plan to Pay Off your Credit Cards! Totally FREE to sign up -Plus you'll get immediate access to our bonus report:
How to Get Revenge on Credit Card Companies for Unwanted Junk Mail
arrow 3 Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network
DPI logo square2 Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network
Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience The Pay Off Credit Card Network Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network

Image from Flickr by Kıvanç Niş

Did I ever apply for a Discover credit card? What kind of website would this be if we didn’t practice what we preach? Yes, it is a pay off credit card site. And yes, we encourage the use of 0% balance transfers from other credit cards as a tool to pay less interest while you are working towards getting rid of credit card debt. So why should I be any different? It may look like I encourage the use of a Discover credit card just because they are an advertising partner of this website. While that is partly true, it is also because I believe that Discover is among the best of the major credit card companies. I decided to “put my money where my mouth is,” and actually apply for a Discover credit card myself. In this post, I will share my exact experience with Discover via detailed descriptions, screenshots and periodic updates.

Apply For Discover Credit Card

Discover it Application 1 of 3 The Pay Off Credit Card Network 150x150 Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network

Click to Enlarge

The online application process for the latest Discover card was quick, easy and painless. I literally knew in about 5 minutes that I was approved for a new Discover it™ credit card. In less than 10 minutes, my application was complete, my approval in place, and my new online profile page at Discover was set up. Here is exactly how the process went:

Step 1 – simply needed some preliminary information, including:

  • First and last name
  • Last 4 digits of Social Security number
Discover it Application 2 of 3 The Pay Off Credit Card Network 150x150 Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network

Click to Enlarge

Step 2 - gets a little bit more detailed – required information includes:

  • Street address
  • City, State, Zip code
  • E-mail address
  • Home phone number
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security number
  • Employment status
  • Total yearly income
  • Monthly housing/rent payment

Step 3 - verify your information and check the boxes that indicated that you have read and agree to the Terms and Conditions

At the bottom of the page on Step 2 you have the option to add balance transfer request information as well as add users to your account for free. I added my balance transfer information and added my wife as a user to my account. It took me about 3 minutes to do everything listed above. Less than 2 minutes after that, I knew that I was approved!

I then spent an additional 5 minutes setting up my online profile page at Discover. This is optional, but required if you wish to view statements online, pay online, or use any of the many other online account management features.

If you wish to try out the easy online application, Click here to apply for the new Discover it™ or click on the banner below. All current offers, terms and conditions can be found on the Discover page after you click through.

Discover it The Pay Off Credit Card Network 728x90 Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card NetworkDiscover Credit Card Review

This is the part of this post that I plan to update as frequently as I see fit. I will set it up as kind of a timeline so that you can see the order of events exactly how and when they took place.

  • January 5, 2013 - applied for Discover it™ credit card online, complete with balance transfer request of $9,300.
  • January 5, 2013 - found out within 5 minutes that I was approved for credit card, but did not find out the exact amount I was approved for
  • January 7, 2013 - logged into my Discover account. To my dismay, I found out that my credit limit was only $5,300. I checked my balance transfer status (online) and it showed an error message and  said to call Discover. Perfect opportunity for me to test the 24/7 U.S. based human customer service – as promised!
  • January 7, 2013 - called 1-800-DISCOVER and spoke with Wendy in Salt Lake City, Utah. It took less than 1 minute to get through 3 options on the automated phone menu, and only about 1 minute after that before Wendy picked up (automated thing said it would be a 2 to 4 minute wait).
  • January 7, 2013 - explained to Wendy that my requested balance transfer was more than the credit limit they gave me. Asked if it was possible to increase my credit limit – no. You have to be a customer for 6 billing cycles before you can request a credit limit increase. Wendy quickly resolved my pending balance transfer issue by decreasing it to $5,000. It now shows online as Processing.
  • January 9, 2013 - Our new Discover it™ cards arrived via FedEx! – only 4 days (2 business days) after I applied online. The packaging the cards came in was unlike anything I’ve ever seen for a credit card. The FedEx package was a sturdy cardboard box, and inside was a printed cardboard envelope with the Discover logo. The cards themselves (one for me, one for my wife) have a metallic look with nothing but the Discover logo on the front. ALL information is on the back, including: name, expiration date, card number, security code, magnetic strip and signature box. There are no raised numbers or letters. Here is what the packaging looked like, and also a view of the front and back of our new Discover credit cards.Apply For Discover Credit Card Review Discover it card FedEx 1024x515 Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network
  • January 10, 2013 - called to activate credit cards. Shannon in Phoenix, AZ picked up after just one ring – no automated phone menu!! Wow! How do I know the names of the customer service reps and the city they are in? Because they tell me right off the bat. Shannon also spoke really clear english. She was very friendly as she confirmed mine and my wife’s name and activated both cards for us and then asked me if there was anything else she could do to help.
  • January 21, 2013 - my $5,000 balance transfer posted to my Discover account, plus the 3% balance transfer fee ($150). This happened exactly 16 days (11 business days) after my initial request on January 5th, which was also the same day I applied for the Discover It card. I am satisfied, as this time frame fell within the 2 weeks they said to allow for balance transfers to go through. Note: it took another 4 days for the funds to actually post as a credit on my old credit card, which is typical for external bank transfers.
  • January 30, 2013 - logged in to my Discover account online to confirm my online payment options. Nothing is due at this point, just wanted to make sure I am all set for when my first statement becomes available and payment is due. One of my checking accounts is connected to my Discover account online. I can easily make payments manually with just a few clicks, or set them up to post automatically for any date that I want. Discover does allow you to make up to 2 payments per day on your account, using different bank accounts. It does not say that there is a maximum per month, or any extra fees for making extra payments. This is perfect for the Debt Snowball FIGHT method for paying off credit cards!
  • February 19, 2013 - received an e-mail from Discover informing me that my first statement was now available to view online. I then received the paper statement in the mail three days later, on the 22nd. My first payment of $103 isn’t due until March 13th! To re-cap – I applied on Jan. 5th. My balance transfer posted on Jan. 21st. First statement on Feb. 19th. First payment not due until Mar. 13th. Time to try out the online payment option!Discover Card Account Center Home Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network
  • February 26, 2013 - made my first payment online! It was extremely easy to do and I discovered some cool options that are available. I had already linked my checking account to this Discover account – so I simply needed to pick the amount I wanted to pay and the date I wanted to pay it. The following screenshot shows exactly what I had to work with. After hitting Continue it brought me to a Verify & Submit page. After that it brought me to a Confirmation page complete with unique payment confirmation number.
    Discover Card Make a Payment Apply for Discover Credit Card Review and My Experience   Pay Off Credit Card Network

    Click on image to enlarge

    Being able to schedule payments a couple of weeks ahead of time can be very convenient. For example, if you will be on vacation with no access to a computer or the internet when you want your payment to post. Or, if you don’t have enough money in your checking account and you want to pay right after your next paycheck is put in. Simply set it up to post your payment a day or two after your next scheduled paycheck deposit so you won’t forget.

  • May 25, 2013 – Received a $5 gift card for Starbucks! Totally random and out of the blue, Discover sent me this gift. It arrived in a thick, shiny, metallic looking cardboard envelope/card (similar to what the credit cards arrived in – see pictures above). Within the envelope/card was printed one simple sentence - “We’re so glad to have you as a cardmember.” On the opposite side, the gift card was attached. Underneath the gift card it read, “Enjoy a $5 treat on us.” This was totally unexpected and came as a shock to me because I haven’t even used my new Discover card to make any purchases. I’ve only utilized the 0% balance transfer and made a few payments thus far. Discover really is going above and beyond to make sure their customers are happy. I am very pleased!

Bookmark this page and check back periodically for future updates as my relationship with Discover progresses and new developments occur. I will gladly reply to comments or answer any questions in the comments section below.

I hope this post has been a helpful Pay Off Credit Card resource for you in your quest to eliminate that stupid credit card debt. Feel free to join in on the discussion in the comments section below or head on over to our Discussion Forum. The best way to stay up to date with recent posts on this blog is to have them delivered straight to your e-mail inbox (Subscribe Here) or Subscribe by RSS.

Discover is a paid advertiser of The Pay Off Credit Card Network

Did you like this article?
Please share it now
FREE 7-Step Plan
loading comments...